On Friday 3rd June, at 8.30 pm, at the Teatro Massimo Bellini in Catania, the Novafonic Quartet will perform as part of the 2022 Concert season.

“Omaggio a Piazzolla” celebrates the great Argentine bandoneonist and composer Astor Piazzolla for the hundredth anniversary of his birth. A show dedicated to the sounds of the Tango Nuevo, on the border between fusion and contamination, tradition and innovation, in which the poetic force of music blends with the talent and virtuosity of the artists. Jazz harmonies and the most refined compositional techniques blend with the fascinating Argentine popular music, giving life to a perfect combination of past, present and future. An artistic experience in which the tango reaches its maximum evolution, transformed and revolutionized. The passionate themes and the overwhelming rhythms of the most famous masterpieces of the Argentine master are re-proposed and interpreted with the deep melodic sensitivity and the executive ability of the Novafonic Quartet, an all-Italian formation composed of four champions of
the international music scene: Fabio Furia, bandoneon; Gianmaria Melis, violin; Marco Schirru, piano and Giovanni Chiaramonte, double bass. A repertoire of great emotional impact that will lead the public on a fascinating and engaging musical itinerary, a tribute to the genius who revolutionized Tango and redesigned its contours indelibly tracing its path of success.

On the program: Adios nonino, La milonga del Ángel, La muerte del Ángel, Tristezas de un doble A, Lo que vendrà to name a few.

On stage:

Fabio Furia, bandoneón

Gianmaria Melis, violin

Marco Schirru, piano

Giovanni Chiaramonte, double bass